News and Events

Around the College

CLAS News and Events

This article was originally published in the April - May 2005 issue of CLASnotes

CLAS Faculty Receive Mentoring Awards

Two CLAS faculty members have each received a UF Doctoral Mentoring Award. Zoology Professor Jane Brockmann and Psychology Professor Greg Neimeyer are two of five university-wide recipients. The award recognizes innovation, effectiveness and excellence in doctoral dissertation advising/mentoring. Each winner receives $3,000, plus an additional $1,000 to support graduate students.

Harrison Receives International Anthropology Award

Faye Harrison, a professor of African American studies and anthropology, has received the 2004 Society for the Anthropology of North America (SANA) Prize for Distinguished Achievement in the Critical Study of North America. The award is given annually in honor of a senior-level anthropologist who has made broad-based contributions to the field.

"She has the rare distinction of being a productive and respected scholar, an award-winning teacher and a beloved mentor, and a skilled leader who never loses sight of engaged activism," says Lee D. Baker, SANA president and Duke University cultural anthropologist. "I think if you look closely at the depth and breadth of her research, selfless service, and gallant leadership, there are very few scholars who can match her inestimable energy and impact on the discipline of anthropology."

Harrison officially will be presented the award at the 2005 annual meeting of the American Anthropological Association in Washington, DC to be held this fall.

New Student Group Promotes Diversity Awareness

A new student organization at UF aims to connect national and cultural organizations on campus and raise cultural awareness. The Cultural House of Representatives (CHR) held its first assembly in February. Twenty-eight organizations attended, ranging from the Jamaican Student Association and the Filipino Student Association to cultural student unions like the Pride Student Union to organizations that provide support for minorities such as Students Taking Action Against Racism.

Miguel Porto, a political science freshman, developed the idea for the CHR and serves as its president. He says there are many benefits to student organizations that want to join, including leadership training, networking, workshops and access to a master database of events on campus to prevent overlapping activities.

The CHR plans to hold another assembly in September. Visit for more information..

CLAS Staff Honored for Excellence and Service

CLAS StaffJohn Mocko, a senior teaching laboratory specialist in the physics department, has received a 2005 UF Davis Productivity Award, which is given to individuals and work units for initiating new projects as well as adapting and implementing previous years' achievements to create added value. Mocko, who received a $1,000 cash award, was recognized for acquiring and installing a student response system to be used in instruction throughout UF.

Cindy Powell, an accountant in the psychology department, has received a university-wide Superior Accomplishment Award. The program recognizes staff and faculty members who have contributed outstanding and meritorious service to the university and have improved the quality of life for students and employees. Powell won in the administrative/supervisory category and received $1,500 and an invitation to the President's Box during an upcoming UF football game.

In April, CLAS honored its employees for their commitment and years of service to the university at a reception in the Keene Faculty Center. CLAS Dean Neil Sullivan offered words of gratitude and encouragement. Recognized employees received a UF pin and certificate, as well as a CLAS pen and keychain. The following 46 staff members were recognized for their years of service to CLAS and UF. 5 years: David Hon, Roger Julian and Tracey Phillips, astronomy; Denise Caswell and Margaret Joyner, botany; Dianne James, Oleg Matveev and Renda Springs, chemistry; Linda Hunter and Addie Pons, communication sciences and disorders; Luz Mieses, dean's office; Kevin Hartl and Mary Ploch, geological sciences; John Vanleer, physics; Elizabeth Holcomb, psychology. 10 years: Joanne Jacobucci and Julie Ann Steffens, chemistry; Cindy Carrion, dean's office; Brian Roberts, mathematics; Suzanne Lawless-Yanchisin, political science; Anne Newman, religion; Terry Lopez, Romance languages and literatures; Paula Ambroso, women's studies; Mike Gunter, zoology. 15 years: Annemarie Sykes, Germanic and Slavic studies; Virginia Dampier, philosophy; Edward Storch, physics; Mircea Garcea and Leonard McDonald, psychology; Karen Pallone, zoology. 20 years: Debra Hunter, astronomy; Marty Swilley, Jewish studies; Sharon Easter, mathematics; Cathy Knudsen, physics; Carlon Elton, Romance languages and literatures; Cathy Moore, zoology. 25 years: L. Beth Douglas, chemistry; Carol Binello, dean's office; Dori Faust and Lawrence Phelps, physics; Henry Coulter, Diana Davis, Peter Eliazar and Kenetha Johnson, zoology. 30 years: Cheryl Phillips, psychology. 35 years: Carol Rozear, statistics.

Department News

Academic Advising Center
African American Studies
Criminology, Law and Society
Germanic and Slavic Studies
Romance Languages and Literatures



Jane Dominguez

back to the 2006 News index >>

top >>

CLAS Navigation

News, Calendar of Events, Head of the CLAS, Submit News/Event, Media


CLAS Portals


College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

2014 Turlington Hall
P.O Box 117300
Gainesville FL 32611
P: 352.392.0780
F: 352.392.3584